2,000 yards or 40 laps in 40:42 for 375 calories

Today I went for a quick swim and pushed my pace again.  When I showed up the pool was packed with the Plano kids swimming program, but luckily within 5 minutes almost the entire pool emptied and the rest of the swim was relatively uncrowded and felt great.

Afterwards, I confirmed my registration for two upcoming races.  The first race is the Blackland Sprint Triathlon benefitting Plano ISD.  I guess it’s a replacement for my deferred US Open Triathlon, except this race is a lot smaller (~500 athletes instead of ~2,000) and a lot shorter (Sprint distance instead of Olympic, pool swim instead of open water).  Still, it’ll be nice to squeeze in an end-of-season triathlon since I have spent most of the year training.  The second race is the 41st Annual Dallas Turkey Trot.  This was the original race that my friend Curt and I were going to do before he moved to South Carolina, and outside of triathlon it has been the race to which I have most looked forward.  It’s an 8-mile race on Thanksgiving morning with over 30,000 runners!  There’s also a 3-mile fun run for folks not interested in working up their metabolism too much on Thanksgiving.  If you’re interested in doing either race with me, please comment and let me know.

