38.72 miles in 2:21:42 @ 16.39 mph and 142/167 bpm for 2,297 calories

Made a wrong turn but stumbled across a nice contry road

Made a wrong turn but stumbled across a nice contry road

After a two-week hiatus from cycling, I finally managed to squeeze in a long bike ride before my flight to Boston on Sunday.  My back was still a bit achy when I started the ride, but by the time I finished it felt almost completely healed.  It was a cool day but quite breezy, which created some challenging south-bound riding but made for an overall pleasant time.  I started by riding down “The Widowmaker” (a.k.a. Windhaven Hill) and actually set a new personal speed record of 38.4 mph.  Then I rode up Plano Parkway Hill for a nice early hill climb (actually a series of three hills) and then on the rest of my ride.  I made a wrong turn on Coit Road north of 121 and accidentally headed further out than I intended, but I stumbled upon a nice country road out there and took the picture you see above while I stopped to eat my Powerbar.  It was great to be back on the bike!

