8.29 miles in 1:28:31 @ 10:40 pace and 164/181 bpm for 1,196 calories

Joanne and I took our first vacation without Emma last weekend!  (Thanks to my mom, Patty, my dad, Joanne’s mom and dad, and our babysitter Erin for taking care of her while we were away.)  We had a great long weekend in Mexico doing nothing but laying on the beach, eating, laying by the pool, eating, sleeping, eating, etc.  I did go scuba diving twice and swam a total of 1.5 miles in the open water and the huge resort pool, but other than that I got zero exercise.  So when I returned home, I was itching to get back out on a long run.

Unfortunately, my body was not ready for the distance my brain thought it wanted, and although my run was decent, the next day I was as sore as I used to be when I first started running back in March.  Still, it felt great to get back into the swing of things.  Because starting today and through the end of the year, I am focusing my training on the run.  I’ve cut out one bike ride and one swim from my weekly schedule, added in one run, and I am increasing the time and distance of my long run to peak at just over 2 hours during the first week of 2009.

Why?  Two reasons. The run is my weakest triathlon leg, and with the triathlon “off-season” beginning, the only races left until Spring are runs.  And since I’ll be in Houston in January to celebrate a late Christmas with the Larsons, I’ve decided to enter the Houston Half-Marathon (my sister is running the full marathon) to keep me motivated after the Turkey Trot and before 2009 triathlon training season begins for me in early February.

