2,850 yards (57 laps) in 1:03:12 for 617 calories

My normal pool, the Tom Muehlenbeck Center in West Plano, was closed this week for renovations, so I decided to head east to Oak Point Center.  I’d raced a triathlon, the Blackland Sprint, back in 2008 and swam in the pool there and really liked it.  This was my first swim workout over an hour for this year, so it was nice to be able to swim in a much larger pool almost exclusively dedicated to lap swimming with lots of free lanes.

Towards the end of my workout, a lady started swimming in the lane next to me.  I’m not sure if she was pacing herself against me or if it was just coincidence, but she kept swimming even with me when I started my last handful of laps.  I had already swam 1.5 miles at that point, so it was nice to have a “rabbit” to push my pace through the end of the toughest part of the swim.

