33.53 miles in 2:04:23 @ 16.17 mph and 139/164 bpm for 2,081 calories

Inspired by the aerobar-fest at the King Tut Sprint Triathlon earlier this month, I finally upgraded my bike with Profile Design T2+ aerobars for this weekend’s ride.  Like a kid on Christmas morning, I woke up early and ready to ride, with all my gear neatly laid out the night before so that I wouldn’t wake the girls.  I opened the front door to check the weather, though, and saw tree limbs blowing horizontal in gale force winds.  A quick weather check showed that Collin County was under a wind advisory.  My first thought was, “Crap!”  But then I remembered that I was excited about a piece of equipment that was supposed to make me more aerodynamic, so I decided to go out and give ’em a try.

They were a blast!  I loved the more forward position, and after a quick stop and some tweaks with the allen wrench just south of I-635, I felt great.  It might have helped that I also picked up a new saddle, a Fizik Arione TRI2, that felt at least 50% more comfortable than the stock seat I had been riding since last May.  It was a great two-hour ride with a good portion of it into a 20+ MPH wind that I barely noticed.  Can’t wait until next weekend!

